Lakeshore Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), one of six regional accrediting bodies authorized by the U.S. Department of Education. College accreditation includes approval to offer distance education courses and programs. Lakeshore has been an accredited higher education institution since 1977. A comprehensive evaluation was completed in 2014-2015 and at that time, the college opted to transition to the Open Pathway model (see details below).  The next reaffirmation of accreditation is in 2024-2025.

The commission can be reached at The Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604. Phone: 800.621.7440.

What is Accreditation?

An accredited college or university means you can expect -

A Quality Education:
Accreditation means that a college, university, institution or program meets standards of quality for faculty, curriculum, administration, library, financial management and student services.
Financial Aid Opportunities:
You can only obtain federal financial assistance if your college or university has appropriate accreditation from an organization recognized by the United States Department of Education.
Credits that Transfer:
If you ever want to transfer your college credits to continue your education, accreditation is an important factor when a college or university is deciding whether to accept transfer credits from your previous school.

Accreditation also means that Lakeshore has demonstrated evidence of meeting the Criteria for Accreditation, which are the standards of quality by which the Commission determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. View a full description of these criteria and their core components.

They fall into the following Categories:

Criterion One. Mission:
The institution's mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution's operations.
Criterion Two. Integrity
Ethical and Responsible Conduct: The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.
Criterion Three. Teaching and Learning:
Quality, Resources, and Support: The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.
Criterion Four. Teaching and Learning:
Evaluation and Improvement: The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.
Criterion Five. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness:
The institution's resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities. The institution plans for the future.

What is the Open Pathway to Accreditation?

The Open Pathway is a 10-year cycle with an Assurance Review in Year 4 and a Comprehensive Evaluation in Year 10. The Open Pathway includes an improvement component, the Quality Initiative. This initiative targets improvement efforts on a specific project addressing the current needs and aspirations of the institution.  View complete information about the pathway:

Lakeshore Open Pathway cycle and previous accreditation timeline

Does the Higher Learning Commission also provide Program Accreditation?

The HLC does not provide program accreditation. Many programs receive independent accreditations that apply specific standards for curricula and course content for those students preparing to practice a specific profession.

Program Accreditation